top of page

First Day Wear, What They Wore Edition


Ah, Dr. Jones. He's got that professorial look, right? Well, maybe. Once upon a time. I'm not saying that you should not wear a bow tie with a vest and a blazer. Not saying that AT ALL. Not saying that you shouldn't wear those glasses, cuz my glasses are the same style. You do you, as long as you are not trying to copy what you think is professor wear.

Let's take a look at some of my friends who were werking it on their first days of classes.

This is Kate. Kate teaches early feminism in a head-to-toe redo of Dr. Jones' look. I'm in love with the printed blazer, two-toned button up, SUSPENDERS, ankle-length pants, and kick-ass shoes. Do not mess with this professor. She has come to slay today, students

Here's Monica. She's wearing one (er, actually two) of my favorite accessories: the broach! You can't go wrong with a broach, especially a rhinestone one! I'm really digging that black color on her blazer, too. Two-toned win!

Hey, Megan! On her first day, she wore a jersey long-sleeve tee with a wool skirt to fashionably combat a dark, cold morning. She took this selfie to show her reflection in her office window. I don't see any light outside, do you? At least her fashion brightened up the morning.

It's not cold where Shelby lives! Well, it was chilly enough for her to put on this fabulous denim jacket. She's got a classic look going on here: LBD (long black dress) with denim and a long necklace. Also, Shelby is toting her adorable dog. Look closely. This pup is camera-ready. Legs crossed. Eyes wide open! Ready to teach those students!

Here's Robin, wearing one of the best colors: a deep purple, some may call it eggplant. To top off this wonderful dress, she wears a long necklace--definitely something I recommend for knee-length, straight-cut or A-line dresses. Also, there is a cat in this photo! Yay!

Speaking of cats....Here's a picture of Paul, who is wearing a tie and pants. No, wait. It's a pic of one of his cats, whom he claims looked much better than he did on the first day of classes. He might be right. This cat is super fashionable with that two-toned combo. I love a two-toned cat. I'm guessing Paul also looked great on his first day, but we'll never know....I don't have any photo evidence!

Sometimes we forget to take pictures of ourselves in our first-day attire, and then think, gosh, if only someone had drawn a picture of me so that I could share with my friends what I wore. Lo and behold! Samantha's student did just that. Isn't that wonderful?

By now most of us have taught our first classes of the term (I say most because my friend Andrea starts on January 31!). We made it through the syllabus reading, meets-and-greets, and opening lectures. Now we have to start enjoying our semesters and wearing the clothes that make us feel good. Never wear anything that does not make you feel good. Period.


bottom of page