top of page

What Would Jane Austen Do?


Last week and this week I am teaching Northanger Abbey. This afforded me the perfect opportunity to wear to class my "What Would Jane Austen Do?" t-shirt, which my husband gave to me last Christmas. He went to one of those t-shirt maker websites and found this design. Don't you love it when your loved ones know what you like and then get you something specially made that showcases it?! He remembered how disappointed I was that I couldn't find any Jane Austen shirts in England. It's like they don't exist!

Unfortunately, I didn't take any more pictures of myself on the day I wore the shirt to class, so I'll have to tell you what I wore. I wore a pair of black jeans, a black cardigan, and a zebra-print bandana! Got a little snazzy with the headwear cuz that is what Austen would have done, no? She liked to add her own sense of pizzazz. So do I.

I'll keep this post short and sweet this week and end by encouraging you to consider, in any situation, what you think your favorite author would do. Be careful, though, if your favorite author is a bit nutty!


bottom of page