top of page

What Color Makes Your Kicks Tick?


Red Adidas sneakers

Many thanks to Sabine Klein for volunteering to write a guest blog for What Professors Wear! Sabine is my colleague in the English department, and she wears the kicks shown above. I always say that you can't go wrong with red shoes. Let's hear what she has to say:

Yesterday, I walked through The Maine Mall, decided to check out a shoe store, found a magnificently red pair of shoes, not only on sale but also in my size, and I decided the time had come for an impulse buy. Yes, I engaged in the act of shopping therapy. Being generally not a fan of consumption, conspicuous or not, I’m not proud of that, but this week has been trying for a variety of reasons. Red shoes were the answer for the moment.

Today, I am wearing my new red sneakers and just looking at my feet makes me smile. And I smile not because shopping therapy succeeded – it never does for me – but because my shoes are red, and they make me feel good, about myself, about the world, about the future. When school starts up again in the fall, I will wear these shoes to work. For professors, especially women professors, even those working in rural Maine, brightly-colored sneakers are not necessarily considered proper attire. However, I believe that these shoes make me better at what I do, because they reflect me and not some projection of who I should be.

Right on, Sabine! Red ADIDAS for the win! As y'all know, I have a pair of shockingly red LL Bean boots, so if bright shoes are not proper, then call me sassy for wearing them.

 

I also have a new pair of sneaks to tell you about, and they are a light shade of pink! I have worn them once, and I felt like I was walking on air. I love the color, too. Like Sabine's red kicks, I can wear these pink shoes with anything. This shade of pink is kind of like red--it's a neutral, meaning that it looks good with anything.

It just so happens that pink is a color that has become synonymous with breast cancer awareness. As my battle rages on, I will "think pink" and wear these sneaks as often as I can.

Check 'em out:

New Balance is my favorite brand for sneakers--they just fit my feet right. One of the things I love about this pair and two other older models I have is that the back is low enough not to bother my ankle or heel. The back is cushiony soft. The shoe is lightweight and breathable. This makes a big difference for day-long wear. Before you buy new sneaks, remember that you can also change out the inserts. I take out the ones from NB and put in my own special orthotics from ABEO.

Catch ya next time!


bottom of page