top of page

Earning Your Stripes


I own multiple pieces of striped clothing. These stripes run in many directions: horizontal, vertical, even diagonal. The stripes come in different colors: pink, blue, white, black, even red. Some are wide; some are thin. Stripes are diverse and versatile. While stripes are not a one size fits all model, I would argue that, given the right set of stripes, almost everyone can enjoy wearing them. Find the right stripes for you.

I would say that I have earned my stripes. I have blogged about wearing stripes on more than one occasion, and now here I am again about to tell you a bit more about how to wear stripes. Wear them together.

A lot of people, heck, maybe most people, think that you should only wear one item of striped clothing. These people, maybe you are one of them, might purchase something striped and then proceed to look in your closet for a solid item to wear with it. Let's say you have a striped skirt. You look for a solid shirt. Perhaps you have a striped shirt. You look for a solid pair of pants. What do you do if you have a striped shirt and a striped jacket?

If you were me, you would wear them together. Wait...that's exactly what I did a few days ago!

A lot of people were shocked and delighted by my pairing. I don't know what made me do it, but I was looking in my closet and thought, gosh, what would it look like if I wore a striped shirt under this striped jacket? I tried it on and was like, "oh, yeah."

Now, lest you think that I wore black pants with this ensemble, I will show you another pic. To wear black pants with this duo would be drab and disappointing.

Shout out to these Michael Kors forest green, jersey knit, skinny pants. <<For real, I love Michael Kors for more than the MK branding. He makes wearable, comfortable clothes. OK, I'm getting off track.>> The pants give a little burst of color to the outfit, and I typically wear them with black and white or denim.

I didn't take a picture of the shoes, but they are patent leather MK booties. It was raining, and they are so cute that I would wear them even if it weren't.

Before I end this post, I will also call your attention to my Betsy Johnson skull necklace. Betsy Johnson is my favorite pop jewelry designer. I adore her quirky sense of style and humor.

 

So, what did we learn today, kids, from the lesson?

1. Wear black and white stripes.

2. Wear those black and white stripes with alternating black and white stripes.

3. Wear all those stripes with a different color to give a boost.

4. Wear all those stripes and that small burst of color with a quirky piece of jewelry.

Here's one more thing:

If you don't want to take it from me, and you still resist the stripes, learn from her:

Stripes forever!


bottom of page