top of page

Trust Me. I'm the Doctor.


That's Amy Pond and the 11th Doctor.

If you know me reeeeeaaaaaallllly well, you know that I love Doctor Who (DW). Love it. Like, love it so much I have TARDIS lights in my office. Like, I have DW magnets. Like, I have a DW coffee mug. Like, I have two new DW t-shirts!

Although lately my body and mind have been consumed with a different kind of doctor--egads, I have been really sick this year--I want to take a moment or two reflect on my favorite kind of "doctor": the infamous time traveler known as The Doctor. Doctor Who? That's his name, soon to be her name.

A few weeks ago I wore one of my new DW shirts. I wore it kind of furtively--under a zip up sweater, on a non-teaching day--to work. I don't think anyone knew that it is a DW shirt. See if you get the visual reference here, Whovians.

10th Doctor's Outfit

OK, whose outfit is this? Any takers?

Hello?

Why, yes! It is the 10th Doctor's outfit!

This is David Tennant. He is *my* Doctor. Every Whovian has a Doctor that they call their own. Usually, it's your first Doctor--your way into the series. Tennant was mine. Then I went back and watched 9, 11, and then some episodes from 1, 2, and 4 before moving on to 12.

In wearing this shirt to campus, I was taking part in a secret joke. Why, yes, I am a doctor (Ph.D), and, yes, you could call me Doctor. You might say I am a Doctor, or perhaps even The Doctor. I do time travel regularly, so....

Hopefully you have some cool/nerdy/dorky/you-do-you t-shirts that you can wear to work.


bottom of page