top of page

Put on Your Red Shoes

..."and dance the blues," Bowie says. With her ruby red slippers on, Dorothy cries, "There's no place like home." What do you say when you wear your red shoes? Wait. Do you have a pair of red shoes? Everyone needs a pair of red shoes.

Over the years I have owned various pairs of red shoes--not enough, but some. I had a pair of cherry red patent leather Mary Janes. I had a pair of tomato red ballet flats. I had some red Keds (I think...I had a lot of Keds as a teen). Those shoes have all come and gone. Every time I wore my red shoes I felt super. Like, I felt like a super hero. Every time I realized that I didn't have any more red shoes I looked for a new pair.

Then a month or so ago, I found these shoes on L.L. Bean's website. The color is cherry red with an orange sole.

LLBean red boot

They were on sale, and I had a gift card, but I didn't buy them. Then, someone who loves me very much decided to surprise me with a pair of these red boots. My favorite brand of winter boot in my favorite shoe color: it was like L.L. Bean made them just for me!

So...I have worn these a few times to school already, and every time I wear them I feel like a superstar!

Side of boot
Back of boot

These boots are not only great because they are red, though. They are great because they are the kind of shoes you can wear as you walk on snow and ice--and there's a lot of both of those substances around here in Maine every winter. For instance, the first day I wore them I had to walk across an icy campus and did not bust my butt. Thank you, L.L. Bean boots!

If you find yourself in a position to acquire a pair of red shoes--boots, flats, sneaks, whatev--do it!


bottom of page