top of page

Joy to the World


There are two ways to show your Christmas spirit: 1) wear a bunch red and green, Santa this and that, deck the halls, 'ugly' sweaters, etc. and 2) reflect on the spirit of good will, giving, and being thankful. I enjoy both of these traditions. I show this not only through my oral expressions, but also through my clothing. This blog post will offer advice on how to embody #2 through your attire.

To begin, you don't have to wear red and green to show your Christmas spirit. See my light gray sweater below. Not a trace of holiday colors. Still festive.

Also, I like the message on this sweater. A simple word can convey a lot. Pair that with a smile, and you get joy!

I purchased my sweater at TJ Maxx, but it was first sold at Gap. Actually, you can find a lot of "joy" shirts on the Internet. Etsy and Ebay are good sources. Here are a few samples:

I am not a religious person, but know that you can also find clothes that combine messages of good will with Christian verses. Take this sweatshirt as an example:

I love the message on this shirt: love, peace, hope, joy! Again, you'll notice the color palette--not a trace of red or green in any of the pics. White, blue, gray, gold, silver, and even black make for an excellent alternative to those other "holiday" colors.

Once this holiday season is over and all those shirts go on sale, maybe you should pick one up in red and another in silver or gray. Perhaps not all holiday shirts have to say "Merry Christmas"; there are other ways to share your holiday flair.


bottom of page