top of page

That Christmas Feline


In the song, "That Christmas Feeling," Bing Crosby croons, "I love that Christmas feeling. / It does my heart so good"! He hopes that you will have that Christmas feeling all year long. I would like to modify that song a bit. I love that Christmas feline. Yup, this post is about Christmas cats, my friends, and how to incorporate cat-wear into your holiday wardrobe. Whether you are a grumpy cat or a happy cat, you too can wear Christmas feline attire.

There must have been something in the air yesterday because two of my students and I happened to wear Christmas cat sweaters. One was a grumpy cat, but the other two were pleasure cats. Check out this photo:

I am wearing a sweater vest (cool, right) with a furry black collar. There are two adorable kittens enjoying Christmas decorations and boxes. Cats love boxes. Greg's sweater actually has a background pattern of cats. Then there's the Persian at the center. Really, I was in awe of this sweater. Greg tells me that this is not his only cat sweater, and that also amazes me.

My other student, of whom I do not have a photo, was wearing a kind of ironic cat shirt. I had to profess that the best Christmas sweater is the one that is dead-on serious--like it's not trying to be funny. It is not ironic. It is not sarcastic. It's totally sincere in its display of Christmas flair. It's like, heck yeah, I have embroidered mistletoe and furry balls. It's like, um no, I'm not making fun of cats. I love cats! When one of my students asked me where I got my sweater I told her that I got it in a department store's "misses" section--not juniors or even a Christmas section. No, this sweater was intended for older ladies (not 20, 30, or even 40 y.o women, but older, probably much older women). It was also not intended to be an ugly Christmas sweater. Again, this is a straight up "I love Christmas & cats" sweater. :)

If you want to find one of those har-har-har Christmas cat sweaters, go here. Amazon offers you plenty of options. However, if you want to purchase a legit cat sweater, not a sweatshirt, but a sweater, you will have to shop at thrift stores or at old-fashioned department stores (some still exist, such as Dillard's) and go to the misses section (for ladies; sorry, guys, you will have to go there too).

Finding an authentic Christmas cat sweater will not be easy, so you could make your own. Feline crafty? Get it? Fe-line crafty? Too much? :D

Merry Catmas!


bottom of page