top of page

Pretty in Pink


One of my favorite movies from the 80s (from any era really) is Pretty in Pink. I love Molly Ringwald's character. As a young girl, I could relate to her awkward dorkiness and her fashion. I loved her sense of self, her sarcasm, her resilience. I wanted to be a fashion designer when I was a girl, and when Andy got that pink dress from her dad and made it her own, I was so impressed. I wanted to be her. She was definitely pretty in pink, and I wanted to be, too.

I have always had a hankering for pink. For some reason, when I wear the right shade of pink, I feel awesome. It's not a femininity thing. There's something about the color palette that I like.

Out of all the pinks, I love most hot pink, magenta, and a dusty rose, but lately I have been wearing a pair of salmon colored jeans that I adore and a ballet slipper colored shirt that makes me feel great. I also have a pair of crepe colored pants, too. Of course, I found these items at my favorite store, TJ Maxx, for a steal.

It's funny to me that I go through these phases where I will wear really bright clothes, and then I will latch onto a toned down, even muted palette that just seems to feel right. This fall/beginning of winter, the palette has been cremes, grays, and lighter shades of pink. I encourage you to try out such a palette--even if it is not one you normally gravitate toward.

A fashion mag I was reading this month confirmed that lighter pinks and cremes are in, and even Melania Trump has been wearing creme, so you know it's a go! (snort!)


bottom of page