top of page

These Boots Were Made for Fashionistas


In my last post, I shared some images and text from a guest blogger, Shana Youngdahl, on what she calls "dressy boots"--that is, boots one can wear with a dress or skirt to teach in during the late fall and early winter months before the snow hits. (After that, it's Bean Boots, my friends. Me, too. All winter.)

A month ago I acquired two new pairs of boots from TJ Maxx that only a true fashionista would wear. These are not "dressy boots," but they can be worn with dresses, skirts, jeans, pants, anything, really. These boots are da bomb. Oops, too 2002?

Here's the first pair I bought. They're Lucky boots--actually, they're called "booties." But are they lucky?

Check out that back zipper. Love that part of the design.

Here's a picture of me at the end of my Lucky boots day.

I kind of felt like Mercury in these boots--make that a camo, army green clad Mercury.

If you have the chance to add some shine to your shoe wardrobe, do it. You'll feel spiffy all day despite whatever that day throws at you. ;)

 

OK, second pair of boots.

When I was in Texas I found these shoes on the clearance rack. They had them in just about every size. Apparently, they didn't sell well. What were these people thinking? These shoes are delish! The navy ribbon laces! The floral pattern--and velvety, too! O-M-G. I had to have them. Did I mention that they were only $15! How could anyone pass them up?

These shoes remind me of the '90s in sooo many ways, and even though I'm not a huge '90s style fan, I can get behind the '90s affinity for velvet and boots, boots, boots! If you find yourself hankering for the '90s, get some '90s boots, not '90s crop tops or jeans (dear lord, please don't do that).

You can wear them with skinny cargo pants, though.

In all seriousness, I highly recommend that you add some pizzazzy boots to your wardrobe. Why?

1. They complement basics, such as black sweaters, the LBD, monochromatic tops, and jeans.

2. They add that little bit of special to an otherwise basic outfit.

3. They make you feel special. (Most important of all)

Next time you go to The Maxx, peruse the sale aisle. Try on shoes in multiple sizes because you never really know which size you need. The bronze pair is a size 11. I don't every wear an 11, but in these shoes and with my special orthotics, I do. The flowered shoes are a 10.

Always bring your inserts/orthotics, too. Don't walk around all day in boots without some padding and support. Otherwise, you might not get to enjoy all that awesomeness on your feet!


bottom of page