top of page

Functional and Versatile Fleece Vests

Guess what, y'all! It's time for another guest blogger to join in on the What Professors Wear fun. Today's post comes from Luann Yetter, one of my UMF colleagues. Read on to learn more about what it's like to live and work in Maine.

"I’m pretty sure that a college in Western Maine is one of the few places where professors can wear a fleece vest and call it a fashion statement. The atmosphere is casual around here. Chill. Outdoorsy. And speaking of “chill,” that’s what’s in the air now, and it’s got me thinking about pulling out my fleece.

I like to wear my vests over turtlenecks with skirts or jeans (yeah, we get away with wearing jeans too, even on teaching days).

But my favorite use for the vest is with a dress. Dresses can feel a little too dressy around here, unless we tone them down. So the perfect complement to boots, tights and the LBD is a fleece vest from Maine’s iconic catalog company. It keeps off the chill, and with a knit dress, it hides a few figure flaws too, if you know what I mean…

I’m not sorry when I start to feel that chill in the air. Who can be sorry for a reason to pull out all that soft, cozy fleece?"

***

What Lu doesn't know, my friends, is that I own a similar, if not the same, purple fleece vest and have worn it to UMF! Mine's from L.L. Bean.

Great minds...eh?


bottom of page