top of page

It's Time to Wear a Watch


I've been told by my students that that no one wears watches anymore. You use your phone, I'm told, to tell time. Hmm. Charlize Theron is wearing a watch (shown above). Wait, she is a celebrity watch model and gets paid to wear a watch! But doesn't she look gooood wearing that watch? Doesn't her watch just scream in this pic, "I know what time it is, and knowledge is sexy!" Right. That's it! In all seriousness, though, do people--normal people, not those with endorsements--wear watches? Well, I do, and you might want to, too!

Why wear a watch when we have our computers and phones to constantly tell us what time it is? Sometimes you do not want to stop what you are doing to open the computer or access your phone to do so. Are you in the middle of a conversation and it would be rude to get out your tech device? That would be a great time to casually glance at your watch. Are you taking a test or waiting in an office and you are not allowed to be on the phone? Hey, wouldn't it be great if you had on a watch?

Plenty of people have discussed online why one should or should not wear a watch. Some people even go to discussion forums, such as Quora, to ask, "Why do some people still wear wristwatches?" as if it's such a weird thing to see--you know, someone wearing a watch! Gasp! (FWIW, the answers are worth reading.) Some people also wonder if "wearing a watch is out of style." Answers? The top Quora answer states, "Watches are meant to define a man’s personality. There are many men who prefer to wear watches because it adds to their style quotient." Huzzah! Stylish indeed, but what about women? Wait, the response is only about men. This makes me wonder if women wear watches.

Whew! Huffpost's "8 Reasons Watches Are Still Worth Wearing" assures me that, yes, women do wear watches! I like some of the reasons. For fashion's sake, let me highlight two:

  • The kind of watch you wear becomes a part of your identity.

  • It makes it look like you put effort into getting dressed that morning.

Indeed, a watch is not only a time-keeping device, but also an accessory, and accessories oftentimes are markers of our identities. The second point, that watches make us look like we put some effort into how we look, is a bit more subjective than the first, for who decides if you look like you're put together--you, or the outside world?

***

What kind of watch should you wear? Whatever kind you like, I say! Some insiders suggest specific kinds; some will tell you which kinds are classics and will always be so; and some give you some pointers on choosing your watch style.

I have many watches--but the ones that I admire most are large-faced, fancy ones. Today I wore the following:

I have worn digital watches and analog watches, but this one is definitely my favorite. You'll notice that the face is large--it actually covers my entire wrist. This watch allows me to dress up the wrist (hence, fashion!), and I get a lot of complements on the watch, too. The band is leather, which really comfortable. Did I mention that the watch is by Michael Kors, my favorite designer? :) The MK think is kinda my thing (hence, identity!). Most important, though, is that I can easily and quickly tell the time. I teach in classrooms where the wall clock is behind me and I do not want to use my phone or laptop. I must know the time when I teach. That is crucial.

***

So, professors out there, heck, non-professors, too, it's OK to wear a watch. Pick one that makes you feel good about yourself and allows you to tell time easily. Is it time to wear a watch? Yes, it is.


bottom of page