top of page

It's OK to Wear Polyester (If You Wear It Well)


There. I said it. It's OK to wear polyester. You know polyester--it's that fabric that is super comfortable and doesn't wrinkle. It's that fabric that you want to pack on vacation.

It's also that fabric that doesn't breathe, though, and can be warm. It can be unforgiving in showing off your belly in unflattering ways. It has gotten a bad rep for being a 70s material, and we tend to not appreciate things coming out of the 70s, right? Mustard-colored men's suits come to mind. Puke green ladies' suits come to mind. Just pick a color that should not be worn in excess, and image it in polyester! Some people really hate polyester. Maybe you're one of them.

Heck, some people don't like polyester just because they don't know what it is, or where it comes from. There's a website that explains that.

I say, fuhgeddaboutit! Wear polyester well, and it will improve your teaching or meeting day.

You see that top featured above? I have the dress version of that top by Michael Kors. I am wearing it today. I wore it all summer, too. Why? It's comfy and versatile. It's a good base. Build up.

Michael Kors has so many polyester dresses that are comfy and stylish. Most are above the knee but not too short. Some have patterns; some don't. I also have a wrap dress in orange (a color I hate but a style l like--hides ye olde belly). This dress above is navy with a lace-up front and gold brads. I love wearing it with or without a sweater. When pairing sweaters with it I have gone with gemstone-like colors, such as emerald (shown above), or crayon colors, like magenta. Navy is such a great base--so much better than black, actually.

See how happy I am to be wearing the world's most comfortable and versatile dress!


bottom of page