top of page

#DressLikeAWoman


Yesterday, a Forbes.com post headline stated, "Working Women Respond To White House Dress Code Report With #DressLikeAWoman Campaign." FWIW, there hasn't actually been a WH dress code instated, but unofficial reports indicate that the POTUS has made comments regarding the way a woman working for him should dress.

According to a Buzzfeed article posted today: "Women Are Clapping Back At Trump With The #DressLikeAWoman Hashtag." What are we saying when we use this hashtag? It boils down to two rules, as noted by Buzzfeed writer, Julie Gerstein: "Step one: Be a woman. Step two: Wear whatever you damn well please."

A few of my friends have posted on social media pics of themselves wearing workout attire, uniforms, and doctoral robes (along with men wearing the same robes, FTW) and have added the hashtag. Let me add my contribution to this list by reminding you that "What Professors Wear" shows you what this woman prof wears: everything from pirate costumes to Converse sneakers.

Luckily, I work in an environment that has no dress code. I can wear what pleases me, so of course I think about what I want to wear.

Sometimes it's a dress, and sometimes it's a skirt:

Most days I wear pants:

You see, it doesn't really matter what I wear as long as I feel comfortable and confident. Those two words, IMHO, describe how to dress like a woman. :)


bottom of page