top of page

Marching in Sweats


I am far behind in my blogging, I know. I have felt that blogging about clothes and sharing the post with friends on social media might seem insensitive given the bigger issues plaguing the U.S. and the world right now. I miss blogging, though, and I see friends online asking for non-political posts. We need to keep talking about important things, but we also need a break from time to time. We need to see silly posts, such as a cat climbing an indoor rock wall, or posts such as this one, which is about wearing sweatpants.

OK, so, that last bit is not the full story. This post is about wearing sweatpants to a political event: The Maine Women's March, which took place on January 21, 2017. Now you're wondering what the tone of this post will be, right? Silly or political. Answer: both.

The political: I was in an awful mood the day of and the day following the inauguration. I felt baaaaad, really bad. I felt hopeless, scared, frustrated, down in the dumps. I wasn't even sure that I could handle going to the women's march, but I knew that some of my friends would be there, and I wanted to join them. I convinced my husband to go with me, and that gave me the strength to put some clothes on and walk to the march. The march took place close to my house. How could I not go?

The silly: I couldn't be bothered to dress like a person who cares about how she looks. I put on a hoodie and sweatpants, but no coat because the day was quite warm. In the 30s! I did wear a burgundy beanie (with the signature MKs on it) because I knew that women would be wearing hats in the pink family. I did my best to join in, even though I had not knitted kitty ears on a hat. I don't knit, so, yeah.

When I walked down to the March, I didn't really think about being seen. I was going to stand in the back, see my friends, and probably walk back home. However, I saw one of my friends who had more than one sign, and I held up her sign. She snapped a pic, as friends love to do, and my sweatshirt/pant moment became real. There I was, a woman in sweats holding a sign saying, "I won't sit down, and I won't shut up." Lo and behold, my friend tagged me in the picture, and my friends liked the picture, and there I was again in sweats floating around Facebook.

AAACCCKKKK! Why didn't I put on some jeans that day? Because I couldn't. Now I look at that pic of me wearing sweats and think, yeah, this IS what professors wear. This is what professors wear at home, to the grocery store, to a historic event. Yeah.

I am now proud of this picture, sweatpants and all. ;)


bottom of page