top of page

Red 4 Ed


No, this is not an ugly Xmas sweater post. It's an ugly teacher sweater post! J/K. This post is actually about education; it's about a movement happening today called "Red for Ed." As the Facebook page explains, this symbolic gesture represents "a grassroots movement started by parents and teachers as a way to stand up for Public Education." In part, this movement is responding to the POTUS's nomination for Secretary of Education.

As an educator, today I wear red to represent my concern about this nominee, as well as concern over the future of valuable resources such as the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Public Radio, and the Public Broadcasting Service.

I have devoted my life to public education. I went to public schools from K to PhD. I teach at a public university. I hope that our government will continue to value public education as much as I do.


bottom of page