top of page

Help to Make the Season Bright...with Sequins!


Nat King Cole croons in his famous "Christmas Song": "Everybody knows a turkey and some mistletoe / Help to make the season bright." Sorry, NKC, but that's not quite right. Let me set the record straight: everybody knows an ugly Christmas sweater sweatshirt and a sequined Christmas tie make the season bright. Duh!

Anyone who really knows me well knows that I love the bling. I never shy away from things with glitter, rhinestones, and sequins. As early as kindergarten, my mom made me sparkly hair barrettes. While I never owned a Bedazzler, when I was in the fourth and fifth grades I used to sew rhinestones onto my socks and embellish belts, too. I added my own personal shiny touch to boring solid mainstays. I've never stopped wearing the bling, and I never will.

One blingy thing I am particularly proud of is my sequined Christmas tie. It's a cousin to the pearl tie (see previous blog post), and like the pearl tie, it's a winner! It's one of those items you do not overwear, or it loses its pizzaz. Keep that in mind as you acquire awesome neckties. Don't overwear them. Instructors who have repeat students, remember that your students will remember these accessories. When you wear them once a semester, your students know that it is an important day. Why else would you wear such an awesome neck piece if it were just any old day?

I wore the following tie on the last day of classes, a day filled with class presentations and a workshop--a day deserving of the sequin tie.

What a marvelous piece of artistry! What a holly jolly Christmas tie! Oh, Christmas tree!

Believe it or not, this tie is not very heavy, and it adjustable. It has velcro straps at back to fit all neck widths. How clever! Yes, this is a clever tie. I got it from an estate sale, so who knows who wore it before I did, but I imagine some cute little old lady wearing it to a church party, or a maybe a fiesty business woman wearing it to the office a week before Christmas. Whatever the case, it's now in hipster territory. I wore it with a black turtleneck and pair of black pants. Very emo artist meets crazy Christmas-loving teacher.

I scored bonus points for matching my Christmas decorations at home.

If you do not own a sequined tie, you should. Buy the first one you find. Wearing such accoutrements will make you feel fantastic. It will also bring joy to the world. A lot of people complimented me on the tie: "Whoa, nice tie!" "Where did you get that?" "I love your tie!" I like to wear things that not only make a statement, but make people smile. :)


bottom of page