top of page

Pearls of Wisdom, or, Hipster Pearls


I am the kind of woman who wears pearls. I have single pearl pendants, pearl rings, pearl bracelets, and strings of pearls. I have pearls in a range of colors: white, cream, pink, and plum. Some of these pearls come from the ocean; some come from man. All of my pearls have been given to me because the gifter knows the value of pearls.

No doubt about it, pearls are timeless. They denote distinction and decorum. The wearer of pearls makes a strong statement of class and culture without even trying. If she wears pearls, everyone can see that she is sophisticated. She knows how to dress up a sweater, a suit, a summer dress, a cocktail dress, or an evening gown. This girl's got style.

Sometimes the statements above describe me. On special occasions I love to wear pearls because they make me feel special, sophisticated, cultured. I wore pearl bracelets on my wedding day. I wore my mother-in-law's mother's pearls for Thanksgiving. The eminence of the pearls was not lost on me on those occasions.

I have one more pearly accessory in my jewelry box that makes me feel like a million bucks even though this item only cost me about a dollar. It's my pearl tie.

I wear it at least once a semester, and usually I try to wear it at the beginning or end--it's a kind of celebratory accessory that I do not overwear so that it does not lose its impact. "Is it real?" a student asked me today. I said, "the pearls aren't 'real' but the tie is." The student wondered how much a 'real' pearl tie would cost--a tie made of genuine oyster-baked pearls would cost a fortune, we laughed. Some people worry about authenticity of gemstones, metals, and such. I don't care about that. I care about how awesome I feel when I wear this kitchy fashion accessory.

What a studious tie, no? It makes me want to sit down and write something clever. ;)

Yup.

Words to the wise--er, those pearls of wisdom, eh? When you find an accessory that makes you smile like this pearl tie does for me, snap it up. Don't just get one. Accessories like this one can take even the most boring outfit and turn it into a rock star! Proof? I am wearing a button up with jeans and boots. Nothing too special there except the tomato red color of the shirt, but put on the cool accessory and I feel fantastic.


bottom of page