top of page

What Does the Fox Say?


As I entered my first class today, a student asked, "What does the fox say?" I knew what she meant by this question, and it made me happy. The fox says "a-oo-oo-oo-ooo!" among many other things. Don't ya know to what I am referring? If not, watch the video above. Ylvis, a Norwegian comedy group and a set of TV talk show hosts created music videos a few years ago as spoofs of popular topics and the pop industry in general. This song, "The Fox," was their first international hit--their claim to fame--a song that has earned millions, a video that has been watched 600+ million times on YouTube.

In a way, Ylvis is responsible for the influx of fox attire in recent years. After this song made its way from YouTube to the radio and to US morning talk shows, vendors capitalized on "The Fox" craze by selling cutesie fox t-shirts, sweaters, socks, pants, etc. I found myself attracted to the foxy attire. I have two fox sweaters and a pair of fox socks.

I have always been a fan of the fox. On my parents' farm a few years ago there was a fox family that lived by their barn. Foxes are fabulous creatures: they have beautiful multi-colored fur and those sly grins. They are sneaky! That is what is echoed in the Ylvis lyrics to the "The Fox." The fox is somewhat of a popular icon for mischief and dexterity. The fox can run fast, fit into small spaces, and make herself appear large when pouncing on that prey. She knows how to get the job done, yet she also doesn't mind taking a nap after a long day's work. See the pic below (one that I used as my Facebook profile image at one time):

Today I wear one of my fox sweaters:

Ain't she gorgeous? That cute face! that fluffy tail! That lovely red fur! That "that's right, uh-huh" face. Don't know what that means? See my face below:

I have been under the weather for about a week, so I thought I'd put on a fox sweater to make me feel a tad bit better, to give me some motivation to teach three classes today. One class down.

If you need a good laugh, watch the video I posted. It's silly and stupid, and that's the point. ;)


bottom of page