top of page

Safari Time


Sometimes professors must prepare themselves to enter the wild outback that is the university. We prepare for the hunt. Gotta find our notes, our books, the right classrooms, the projector remote, and finally the students who are supposed to be in our classes. On the first day of class we call roll. Is _______ here? Student's last name begins with A. Nope? How about ________? OK, "do I have the right roll sheet," we think? A day later we find that so-and-so has dropped. So-and-so has added. So-and-so wants to be removed from Blackboard's mailing list. So-and-so doesn't have the books. Students must go on their own safaris, it seems. Track down those classrooms. Track down those books. Prepare for the adventure of the semester.

Such a safari requires proper attire. Students are usually less prepared sartorially than their professors. We know how to dress for success. Gotta keep your supplies somewhere. Don't lose those keys! Pockets are a plus. In any occasion, actually.

Why not wear the safari dress? I have one. It doesn't look like that designer dress worn by the beautiful model featured at the beginning of this post, but it is clearly an adaptation of one, though much cheaper. Thanks, Kohl's.

I wore the dress shown above yesterday (second day of class). It has pockets on the chest--a must for the safari dress. It has the rolled up sleeves which are held up by a rectangular strap and buttoned to the shoulder--a general motif in the safari dress world. It has a collar--another safariesque trait. It has a cinched, but comfortable, waistband. I like patterns and colors, so I was happy to find this dress. I like its Monet palette; something about this dress feels painterly to me. When I put on this dress I always feel good.

I decided to pair the dress with a glass necklace my husband gave me as the first birthday present from our courtship. The circular pendant has shades that match the dress.

I also wore a pair of shoes from my past life--the life before rheumatoid arthritis. I knew that I wouldn't be walking much yesterday, and when I did walk downtown I switched out to other shoes. Check out these Tsubo wedge shoes.

So now you know how to prepare for an academic safari, friends. Find that safari dress. Wear cool shoes to match. Accessorize.

Now...if only I could find that play that I assigned my students!


bottom of page