top of page

Golden Girl


You're thinking that this post is going to be about some kind of fashion related to the wonderful TV show, The Golden Girls. You know I love 80s style, and my title implies that I am the fifth golden girl, Sure. Makes sense. Wrong! :D

What will follow in this post probably is closer to a famous golden-clad girl: the character, Jill Masterson, in Goldfinger.

Alas, no, this post will not be one about gold body paint either! I'm just having fun teasing you right now!

***

This post is actually about wearing shiny gold.

One day early in the summer (either before or after surgery) I was out shopping at TJMaxx and found a black and gold Michael Kors shirt on the deep discount rack. I couldn't pass up this $8 find:

The sleeve (not shown) has an MK on it--I always enjoy flashing my initials, you know. The other thing I particularly enjoy about this shirt is that it features the actual aviator sunglasses I am wearing.

Yes, I own Michael Kors frames for my progressive lenses! I know, right?! It's ah-mazing. What's even more amazing is that I was out shopping with my mom some time after my second chemo, and I found a gold Boho Bandeau!

Unbelievable, right?! Let me tell you, in case you cannot see it: this bandeau is super reflective of light. Shiny, shiny, shiny! My students' first reactions were a lot of wows and statements about how I was rockin' the gold on Wednesday.

So, yeah, I got a Michael Kors shirt and gold bandeau, and I wore them together. ;) Too much gold? Nope! Not when you have lost your hair to chemo and breasts to cancer.

Before we part ways on the topic of wearing this much gold, let me caution you when comes to wearing shiny, metallic gold. Wear it as an accent and with another color. DO NOT go full on gold. For example, what if I had worn shiny gold pants? Too. Much. Shiny. Gold. If I had worn a gold sequin skirt (any shape), it would also be too much. Instead, I wore a black-and-white knee-length flowy skirt with black and grey gladiator sandals. It would have been too matchy-matchy to try to wear gold shoes.

Sooooo. Limit the shiny gold unless you are having one of those who-gives-a-crap-imma-go-for-it moments. If that's the day you need to have, own it.


bottom of page