top of page

Comma, not Karma, Chameleon


I am a child of the 80s. I love the fashion and especially the music! One of my first loves was Boy George. His style was unique--an eclectic mix of color, materials, and, of course, makeup! He was the first man I ever saw who wore eyeshadow and lipstick, and I loved it. He also sang some of my favorite songs, songs that still hold up today every time I listen to them. Some of these songs, "Karma Chameleon" in particular, fascinated me because I had NO IDEA what he was talking about and didn't care AT ALL. :D The beat is so catchy. You can't help but sing along.

It never occurred to me that the song could be used in a punny way until I was scrolling through my Facebook feed and saw a t-shirt ad for this:

Comma, comma, comma, comma, comma chameleon....The English nerd in me immediately OMG'd like five times and shared how much I wanted this shirt. Then, one day in the mail I received the shirt from my beloved friend, Dina. Thank god for friends like these who indulge you!

When I thought about my first-day teaching outfit for the fall semester, I knew that I had to wear this shirt. Now, you might be thinking, "Hey that's not first-day attire. Aren't you supposed to dress up?" OK, yeah. I did. I wore my shirt with an awesome pleated skirt! Here's the pattern:

I chose this skirt for a few reasons: 1) I like the style--it's not poofy, but not flat. 2) It has POCKETS. 3) The pattern looks like one that a chameleon might enjoy. Isn't #3 one of the best reasons for this pairing? :D

Here's how I wore the two together:

I put on some cute sandals, my new UMF hat, and I was ready to go face my new semester.

For those of you who don't know, I lost my hair due to chemotherapy this summer. I had to make a decision about what to wear on my head for day 1 of classes, and I chose my new hat, which was given to me by Shari. I almost wore a red bandana. I definitely was not wearing a hot wig (my classrooms are hot). Look for a future post on headwear for the hairless.

So, I wore this outfit and felt great in it! I have a couple of more new skirts and t-shirts to pair, so also look for posts on that.

As a final word of encouragement, I want to say that you should wear what you like when you teach--and students like funny, clever t-shirts, especially when they show your nerdy love for your field. If you don't want to wear jeans or slacks with the shirts, wear a patterned skirt or pants. Do what you can to have fun with your wardrobe!


bottom of page