top of page

First Day Wear


Yes, I do review all the syllabuses! The syllabus is not only a preview of the semester, but a contract. Professor says: this is what you will do. In staying in the course, student says: I will do these things. Then we all move on and have fun. Right?

Right. As you know, one of the ways I have fun is through fashion. I told my professional writing students yesterday that we all say we want to be something when we grow up. Some say doctor or sports player. Others say rock stars or teachers. I said I never wanted to be a teacher. Teachers get no respect, I thought. I wanted to be a fashion designer. Yup. A fashion designer. I drew evening wear for all the Miss America, Universe, etc. pageants. Each contestant had a different dress. I had Fashion Plates. I came up with my own fashionable concoctions. Classmates were wowed. I looked like I walked out of a magazine. There was a problem, though: all the designers seemed to be old white men, and, as I realized, I was not nor could ever be an old white man. So I gave up the dream.

I never gave up my interest in clothes, though. Even yesterday, my first day of teaching upon returning from medical leave, I thought carefully about my ensemble. Because my once bald head is not mostly covered with stubble (of varying lengths, textures and colors--ew), I decided to wear a new hat: my MK beret. I paired that with my black Bean Boots, apricot-colored jeans, a sleeveless button up denim top, and one of my grandpa sweaters. On that sweater I wore one of the pins a former student gave me. This pin shows a pic of a quill pen--cuz literature, duh!

Just look at that fuzz!


bottom of page