top of page

Happy Halloween


Halloween is such a fun time of the year--we get to pretend that we are something we're not, and no one calls us out on it! Well, let me qualify that. If you are wearing an offensive costume, I'll call you out on that. Wearing ethnically appropriated or super sexy versions of an occupation is so uncool. Let me tell you what is cool: honoring your favorite artist, author, musician, superhero, etc. That's very cool and totally appropriate for professorial costumes.

Take a look at my friends' costumes. Here we have Wonder Woman, Ziggy Stardust, Restoration rakes, and Cleopatra and Antony (gotta love a couple's costume).

If your day doesn't afford you the opportunity to wear a full on costume, you can wear some Frankenstein tights!

Unfortunately I'm not wearing a costume this year. I had some ideas suggested to me by my husband because I am currently hairless: Jean Luc Picard and Dr. Evil.

OK, they're both cool, but I don't have the clothing needed to pull it off, plus we don't get trick-or-treaters or have a party invite.

Instead of putting on a real costume, I had some fun with Snapchat. Halloween puppy dog, candy corn, silly devil, and spider web eyes are fun.

These other two are a bit scarier. Don't mess with me today!

In the past I have worn some cool costumes. As a kid I dressed as Strawberry Shortcake and Olivia Newton John from the "Physical" music video.* As an adult these three are among my favorites: Frida Kahlo, a gnome, and a vampire.

I don't know when I'll wear a Halloween costume again, but hopefully soon. If you're reading this and you throw a Halloween costume party, be sure to invite me so that I have a good reason to come up with a new costume!

*Be sure that you watch that video!


bottom of page